top of page
Search
griggk

Day 5 - Sloth Rescue

Updated: Jun 2, 2022


On our fifth day in Costa Rica, we visited the Cloud Forests in Monteverde. Instead of zip lining, I went to go visit a sloth rescue with Jewel and Keenan. The facility rescues wild sloths that were injured and can no longer survive on their own. There were nine female two-toed sloths at the facility. Our guide explained that several sloths had been partially electrocuted and another was attacked by a dog. Although we could not touch or handle the sloths, many of them were very close to the path and you could easily see them eating, sleeping, grooming themselves and climbing around. Our guide also told us many interesting facts about the sloth species found in Costa Rica, many of which I didn’t know before. Did you know that sloths have ten cervical vertebrae in their spines, compared to humans who only have seven? This gives their heads an increased range of motion, and they can turn their heads almost 360 degrees around as a defense mechanism. Although many of the other Close Scholars had fun zip lining, I enjoyed my visit to the sloth sanctuary. It reminded me of my time volunteering at a pet rescue back home in Greenville, SC.


During my week in Costa Rica, it was evident that the entire nation is united in the goal of protecting their native wildlife and natural environment. I saw signs in the main tourist areas warning people about overfishing, and Herson, our tour guide, told us that 97% of Costa Rica’s energy is renewable. As industrialization and global climate change continues to worsen, I believe that it’s extremely important for people to learn how delicate yet important our natural ecosystems are and understand the fallout that would occur if they were to be destroyed. Personally, I do not believe that the United States government is doing enough to protect our native plants and animals to slow the effects of climate change. Going back home to South Carolina, I would like to use my experiences in Costa Rica and my knowledge of biology to educate people about nature, conservation, and sustainability and help my local community become greener, more environmentally conscious.


-Lauren Patterson

15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page